LCD module clearance problem

sbscott

I have several of Peter Anderson's large LCD modules (#117) and they work well, and are low cost. I am having problems with cleariing the screen initially. Is anyone out there using these modules? Most of the commands seem to work except to clear the screen and place the cursor at the top.
The command to clear is "?f". I have tried this command in various ways but it just don't seem to work. I have read his webpage on their use but..

Thanks in advance.

lanternfish

Have just been reading the info for this LCD. Does the ?f command work if preceeded by either a ?c2 (cursor steady) or ?c3 (cursor blinking) command? I'm not sure if the LCD defaults to no cursor (?c0).
As other commands seem to work could you attach your code around the ?f command so that we can see if it is something prior to iut that is causing the problem?
Cheers

BeanieBots

I have no experience with those particular displays but have encountered many similar issues with others.

One thing to note is that LCDs continue to have some form of internal function with supplies as low as 0.8v. If your power supply has much capacitance on it, there can be enough volts to cause initial problems when powered up. Try shorting out the supply rails for a few seconds before powering up the board.

If it is a serial device which uses 'T' rather than 'N' convention, the first command may be missed if the serial line is not set to HIGH prior to sending the first command.

Andrew Cowan

I've used Phanderson's LCD modules before without problems.

It is good to add:
Put 'high (pin)' at the beginning of the code.
Wait a short while before sending the first command (4 seconds?)
Send all commands at T2400.

Are you using the 118 LCD?

A

manie

Just for info:
The Blue 20x4 LCD from Sure Electr. worked first time for me with screen clear etc.
Does the P Anderson lcd have a Hitachi HD controller ?

sbscott