L293D motor use (novice)

bighed

Hi everyone,

I am a 2nd year mechanical engineering student from the University of New South Wales (Australia). At this point I have no experience whatsoever with electronics but will need some for the project I have been set.

This project allows at maximum, the use of 4 AA batteries. A device needs to be created which completes a track of about 10-15 metres in under 30 seconds, at some pts it will need to climb an incline of 30 degrees (for about 1 m) or climb over barriers (up to 5cm high). The device must also be able to turn

I recently purchased the AXE023 which comes with the L293D. I'm thinking i will need to use H-bridge's to control two motors but have no experience with transistors/diodes/resistors and which to choose for the task.

I have already looked at some schematics on how h-bridges are wired, but I have no clue on which transistors and diodes (to stop noise) to use.

The device would weigh approximately 1-2kg.

Any help or advice for this project would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

John

BeanieBots

The L293 IS an H-Bridge.
How to wire it is clearly shown in the AXE023 manual.
Raising 2kg up a slope to cover the distance in the time might be a hefty load for it though:eek:
Do you have any motors yet?
If yes, what is the spec? How much current will be drawn?
Gearbox?, Wheel size?

You MUST sort out the physics and dynamics BEFORE you design the electronics.

goom

If you do not need reverse, then an H-bridge is unnecessary (but you could still use one). You could simply drive a motor via a MOSFET fed with pulses (PWM command).
Probably the simplest solution would be to buy a cheap 2-channel hobby RC receiver/transmitter. The receiver throttle output could be fed into the Picaxe (see pulsin command) which could perform the necessary calculations and output to the MOSFET (e.g an IRF530) which would power the drive motor. Don't forget the diode to catch the back EMF from the motor.