KIT120 osc.

dietmar

Happy new Year!
I am still waiting for any help with kit 120.
Here is my problem:I am working with mac osx 10.9.5 _it looks like everything is designed for windows.
Please help(I am a real beginner in electronics and it looks like I am running out of steam)
Support from the PICAXE store would be very helpful (the info I am looking for must be there-the kit 120 was checked before shipping)

maybe I am starting to look for an alternative solution
WOMAI if there is something from you please tell me.
Thanks
Dietmar

erco

Hi Dietmar: AFAIK most Picaxe softare is Windows-based except for Axepad, which I have not tried.

Unfortunately it appears that the Windows monopoly also applies to kit 120. Excerpt below from https://picaxe.com/docs/kit120.pdf

The development of the oscilloscope was by Wolfgang Maichen and further information (including all schematics, PICAXE programs and the Windows based software to use with the oscilloscope) are available free of charge from his website at: http://www.pdamusician.com/lcscope/index.html

That link looks dead to me, unfortunately. This kit appears to be over 10 years old. Hopefully Rev-Ed or someone here can at least hook you up with the Windows scope software. On the plus side, used Windows laptops are cheap and plentiful.

papaof2

Used laptops are very cheap in the US. A Dell E6430 with 8GB RAM and Windows 10 cost me $130US delivered (Ebay).
Not a first choice for 3D CAD but more than adequate for everything else I do ;-)

AllyCat

Hi,

Yes, http://dpscope.freevar.com/ is the "archive" of the original "PCB/DPScope (-SE)" project, but compare the screenshots of the KIT120 'scope with the PCBScope/DPScope-SE :

dpscope_se_software.pngKIT120screen..png

The PCBScope/SE "screen" is 16 "squares" high, whilst the KIT120 is 20 squares high. Also the DPScope and DPScope II (2) are 20 squares high, but I think it very unlikely that the software for either of those is suitable either.