Is this right for me ??

sketchy

Hi Everyone
I am a total noob to electonics and am still strugaling with some of the termanology you guys use. I have tried to read the picaxe manuals to see if a picaxe chip will do what i want before i buy one of your sets but i am still non the wiser so any help or advice will be much appreciated.

I want a chip that on a momantary pulse from a micro switch will turn 1 of the chip out puts on and then on a second touch will turn it off.

Then a momantary pulse from a micro switch to another input starts a sequence of outputs across 9 output pins that will continue until the same input pin recives another pulse

Then if a third input is high the previously mentioned 9 output pins all go high overiding the sequence.

Then a forth and fith input pin that on a momantary pulse from a micro switch will turn on yet another of the chip outputs and make it flash and then on a second touch will turn it off.

Does this sound possible. and how complicated would the code be to make it happen. I have had a play about with the flow chart software but not had much luck yet. Am i being over ambisious?

Any help much appreciated

Thanks.

Joe.

BeanieBots

Sounds like a simple enough thing to do with a PICAXE.
You will need to get a chip with the correct number of inputs and outputs.

Assuming these inputs are push buttons that can be pressed by a human, you will also need to think about what will happen if buttons are pushed in the wrong order and/or pushed in the middle of one of the sequences.

If you can clearly explain exactly what needs to happen and when, then you almost written the program. It's getting the explantion clear that will actually be the hardest part.

jc173

Joe,

I think you might want to draw out a "flow diagram" to show the basic arcutecture of the programme you want to do, look at the chips and their capabilites and then turn it to the basic syntax OR use the flow option in the progamming editor.....