Is my Picaxe Blown?

MikeV

Is their a way to test a Picaxe chip (18x in my case)?

After building a Axe Stack kit, i am unable to connect to the chip with the software (with many machines).

I can test a voltage in the Serial in Pin with the sofware, but not communicate. I'm afraid i blown my chip anyhow...

Tested with a prolific adapter and with a real com port.

Any help would appreciated :)

I know it kind of an obvious response, but do you have another Picaxe you can replace it with? Do you have a breadboard where you can build the simple download circuit and see if you can download a simple program to blink an LED?

BeanieBots

Does the previously downloaded program still work?
The simplest test is a firmware check but that does assume a working download circuit and power supply.

MikeV

I'm a newbie in microcontrollers. This is the first time I tried to make it work.
Still, i get a signal (+6v) betweens pins 3 and 5 and voltage (5.2v) between pins 4 and 14.

If a build a test board, what more should I add?

Unfortunately, I do not have another 18x at hand. I will eventually order another, but not if I can avoid it for now.

hippy

Ex-Staff (retired)
What's an "Axe Stack" kit ?

Have you managed to program anything into the chip at all ?

BeanieBots

Before we all start second guessing, maybe should tell us what you have done so far. Please be honest.
What power supply have you EVER connected to it? What voltage?
Has it EVER had the polarity reversed?
Has the chip EVER been inserted the wrong way around and powered?
Anything else you think might be important.

MikeV

the AxeStack has a built-in voltage regulator and reverse-polarity checker.
The PS pushed 9v (11.4v without load), but I mesure only 5v at the + pin on the chip, so i guess the voltage is OK.

As for the socket, there is a key the show the right way, i did not plug it wrong side

I bought the Axe Stack because it seemed dummy-proof. i'm now officially dummy-proof-proof :)

BeanieBots