IR receiver connected to 2 picaxe

ashawthing

I'm a bit of a beginner in the very early stages of planning a project, just wondered if I would have any issues connecting 1 IR receiver to the input of 2 seperate PICAXE ic's?

Thanks

techElder

Shouldn't be a problem if you aren't planning on the IR receiver being at some distance from the PICAXEs.

Please, experiment with that setup. Then report back to us here.

ashawthing

Also, is it possible to have the IR input as an interupt? So the program will be running but if there is an IR input it will stop what it's doing and call up a sub-procedure

I am trying to control all aspects of a reef aquarium. At the moment I am concentrating on lighting. I have a program that turns the lights on/off (gradually over the period of an hour using pwmout), but I would like to add a manual overide from an IR input???

techElder

It sounds like you are creating a central control, so why are you asking about multiple PICAXEs?

Choose the right PICAXE, and you have your central control.

You might find some advantage to have an "IR PICAXE" for the IR processing. Then send along commands from that to other PICAXES via I2C serial.

However, I can't see why you would need more than one PICAXE for your project.

Also, I can't see why you need INTERRUPT processing, either.

Except, maybe you just want to play around with the process? :)

ashawthing

Right, I guess I'm not tackling this problem the right way then. I'll put some more thought into it and come up with a better method

techElder

I always suggest that the solution to most designs is to go out to the periphery and decide what "small" actions need to be done. Then figure out how to read, activate and control those small things.

For example,
  • "adjust the lighting up at 1 second intervals"
  • "change the lighting color at random intervals and to random colors"
  • "read the temperature on demand"
  • "turn the air bubbler on/off"

From that you know,
"I need a PWM output"