I2C 4x7-segment display

smssms

Has anybody got this I2c 7-segment display (Ebay item 260597609525) working with a Picaxe?

I am very new to Picaxe, but got an I2c compass working in about 30 minutes. So far I've spent 4 hours with this 7-segment display and a 28x1 but it only shows its address (3).

There is a data sheet for the display here.

If anyone could give me a bit of code guidance, it would be much appreciated...

Chavaquiah

Hi! The author would probably be able to give better help. You may contact him at the (email) address given on his homepage: http://lietuvys.user.lt/?lang=en

(I'm not transcribing the address here since it's only shown as a graphic for spam prevention.)

Regarding the device's address, try to use 6 instead of 3 (meaning 3 in the left most 7 bits).

Anyway, if you understand C, the examples provided may explain what you have to do. If not, try something like the following, to see if it works:

I2CSLAVE 6, i2cslow, i2cbyte
WRITEI2C (63, 63, "1", "2", "3", "4", 0, 4)

If this works and you don't feel very confortable with C, someone could probably help translate the example code to Picaxe Basic.

smssms

Thank you :)

I have tried various i2cslave addresses including:
%0000110x
%0011000x
%1100000x
$3
$03

And I have tried using binary, hex and "text" for the i2cwrite 0-6 bytes in Picaxe Programming Editor.

As you suggested, I have also asked the author for advice.

westaust55

If as you say in post 1 the slave address is 3,
then the correct value is
%00000110 = $6 = decimal 6 as indicated by Chavaquiah

Chavaquiah

Other than the correct address, you also have to send a checksum in the last byte, otherwise the whole message is ignored. Did you understand how to calculate that? With Picaxe, you have to XOR all bytes sent (except the checksum), including the address.

smssms