How would I sense the bass beat of a song

t.halton10

Hi, I'm a student and was wondering if you could help me find a suitable sound sensor that could be used to pick up the bass beat of a song. I am using a pic chip to program LEDs but I need a way of getting a bass beat of a song into current to act as a imput for the pic chip. My hope is that this will make a disco light that runs on the bass beat of a song. Any help will be much appreciated.
Tom

Tom2000

I'd probably do this in hardware. An op-amp low pass filter followed by a rectifier/filter with a time constant selected to pass the bass notes and drum. Maybe fed to an ADC input...

Tom

t.halton10

Thanks for your reply.

Is there any sensor I could plug directly into a digital (probably analogue) input on the PIC chip and use the programming to change the speed of the disco lights in proportion to the input?

- I dont have time to produce all the extra op-amp front end of a circuit like this, i am just wandering if a microphone would work as surely it produces a different voltage depending on the volume of the song / frequencey of the note that could be used to vary the program?

Thanks Again.

Tom

Coyoteboy

No easy way round this unless the bass beat is much louder than the rest of the frequencies, otherwise it would just react to "noise". You could, i suppose, mount a mic in a sealed box in which most of the higher frequencies would be removed and only the lower notes would get through....

Tom2000

No easy way round this unless the bass beat is much louder than the rest of the frequencies, otherwise it would just react to "noise". You could, i suppose, mount a mic in a sealed box in which most of the higher frequencies would be removed and only the lower notes would get through....
Great idea!

Coyoteboy

Cheers :) Came to me as I bent down below my worktop (speakers above), I noticed that the high notes were lost as they are fairly directional, and the bass sounded loud as ever.

moxhamj