How to turn a NO relay into a NC

rmeldo

Hi all,

I am trying to control a relay with an 08M2. The intent is to power cycle a broadband router (12V, 1A power supply)

I would like to buy an off the shelf solid state relay because I haven't got time to make one and for other reasons I have no control over. Ideally I would like the relay to be normally close (NC) so that I can disconnect the Picaxe circuit for tinkering/maintenance and still have the router on.

However there is much less choice of NC relays than Normally open (NO)

Is there a way to setup a control circuit (using power from the load side, I an not worried about separating the two circuits) to turn a NO relay into a NC one? Intuitively this should be possible with a combination of a transistor and resistors but I couldn't find a fitting example on the internet or on the forum.

I am not good at thinking in "transsistor language" so any advice would be very welcome.

Thanks in advance
Riccardo

techElder

The real question is why do you want a solid-state relay to begin with?

There are plenty of hard contact relays available that will just sit there powering your router for decades until you want to operate the power cycle. Then they'll just sit there for more decades waiting for the next power cycle.

Easy.

Jeremy Harris

I agree wholeheartedly. Just use an off-the-shelf changeover relay and leave it de-energised so the NC contacts power the router. When you want to power cycle it, just activate the relay for a few seconds (some routers need the power off for up to 30 seconds to properly reset, some don't).

hippy

Technical Support
Staff member
It would seem easier to use a mechanical relay but I would guess you could probably use a resistor pull-up to a suitable supply to bias a NO solid state relay to keep it closed when the PICAXE circuit is disconnected.

rmeldo

Great thanks to all.

Changeover will do the job and it explains why there ate so few NC relays on offer on the market.