high power PWM

flak-spammer

So I'm kinda new to all this stuff but I'm trying to build a PWM controller that could power something pretty hefty I'd like to start out at about 200w. I'm trying to control the input voltage for a peltier and they are pretty high power devices. I'd like to use the picaxe controller to do this but I have no knowledge of what I should do. Anyone have any suggestions? Circuit Diagrams etc would be useful.

eclectic

Welcome to the Forum.

First, there's plenty of info. on Peltier. Just use the search function.

Second, 200W is feasible, but, could you give more information
on your project please?

e

sleazyd

Hey there. OK, that sounds pretty reasonable. 200W, on a 12V peltier cooler (I'm assuming) turns out to be about a 16 2/3 A switch, which is fairly hefty, but doable. You'll probably want o setup a low-side FET or BJT and set your PWM in the 10KHz range.

Size your FET accordingly. Remember that at higher currents, you'll end up having to put a heat sink on the FET. The power loss on the FET is related to current, so if you can get it to run at a higher voltage you may be better off.

Attachments

Andrew Cowan

16A, 10KHz, no driver? Sounds like a good way to heat up/burn out your FETs.

Thninking about the (non inductive) load, a solid state relay (SSR) sounds by far the best option. A 40A solid state relay will cost about $15, and can be driven straight from a PICAXE PWM pin.

A

boriz

The higher the frequency, the greater the heating due to FET gate capacitance. Best to use a much lower frequency (Peltier devices react very slowly anyway), and parallel a couple of high current / low threshold MOSFETS such as STP55NF06L, available HERE.

Just one of these would probably work, but if you are using a logic level gate drive, direct from the Picaxe, then you can expect a larger-than-ideal Rds-on. Experiment!