Help with COUNT Command

ROYMARNEWICK

Help with the COUNT command would be really appreciated. I am a novice!!
My program is supposed to measure the number of pulses on an input pin over a 10 second period and then calculate the frequency of the input signal. The command used is : count C.0,10000,w0 ( input pin is C.0 / time period is 10 seconds / output result to w0 ). While the program is running, I rapidly click on the Pin c.0 button on the simulation screen to simulate an input signal (on/off cycles).
When the program is run, I note the following:
* the program runs through all the program lines including the above line but does not hang about for the 10 seconds while it reads the input signals.
* the value of w0 stays as 0 on the simulation screen
Please help in understanding what is going wrong.
Thanks

cpedw

Which Picaxe are you using? 08M2's C.0 is an output only so can't work with COUNT. Most others it's an I/O so COUNT should be OK.

The simulator doesn't do absolutely everything exactly like a real chip - some commands involving timing are particularly challenging for it but you need an expert (not me) to pronounce on simulating COUNT.

Derek

ROYMARNEWICK

Which Picaxe are you using? 08M2's C.0 is an output only so can't work with COUNT. Most others it's an I/O so COUNT should be OK.

The simulator doesn't do absolutely everything exactly like a real chip - some commands involving timing are particularly challenging for it but you need an expert (not me) to pronounce on simulating COUNT.

Derek
Thanks for your reply. Chip is 18M2 and C.0 is an Input, so it would be great to get more guidance. Thanks again.

lbenson

In simulation, the COUNT target value takes the value given for the pin in the values pane of the simulation window. To easily test different values, put a break on the COUNT statement and alter the value for your pin, e.g., C.0.
COUNT sim.jpg

ROYMARNEWICK