help 4 a newbie

RMParkhouse

hey guys, im an electronics student doing AS electronics and im trying to get used to using PICAXE for a project so i set myself some problems to try and solve. this one is basically a car park which has 20 spaces, so i wrote the following:

symbol counter = b0
symbol in = 1
symbol out = 2
symbol open = 3
symbol full = 4
symbol cardI = 5
symbol cardO = 6
symbol sensorOUT = 7
symbol sensorIN = 8

main: for counter = 0 to 20
if cardO = 1 then flashOUT
if counter = 20 then stop
high open
if cardI = 1 then flashIN

flashIN:
high in
if sensorIN = 1 then flashIN
counter = counter + 1
low in
goto main

stop:
high full
low open
goto main

flashOUT:
high out
if sensorOUT = 1 then flashOUT
counter = counter - 1
low out
return

in is a barrier to get in
out is a barrier to get out
open is a light indicating spaces
full is a sign indicating no spaces
cardI is the card to get in
cardO is the card to get out
sensorIN is a sensor to check if the car is inside yet
sensorOUT is a sensor to check if the care is out yet

oh nd the pin numbers arent properly assigned but im not worried bout that, i just wanted to see if the program would work

now i know there are at least 3 or 4 mistakes so could people please point out what they are and maybe suggest some improvements, thnx

Edited by - RMParkhouse on 11/26/2005 10:29:20 AM

hippy

Ex-Staff (retired)
The idea and algorithm is generally sound, but a few problems and some things to think about ...

"Stop" is a reserved word and can't be used as a label.

"sensorIN" is defined as a constant and then used as a variable in an IF. It should presumably be defined as "input8" or "pin8", but then neither of those physically exist.

The same for "sensorOUT".

The "FOR counter = 0 TO 20" doesn't have a terminating NEXT, but is not needed anyway.

The "FlashOUT" routine terminates using "RETURN" when it has not been called by a GOSUB. It should probably be a "GOTO Main".