Has PEBBLE Been Abandoned?

westaust55

Moderator
Not abandoned but no requests and I have had little time for hobbies over the past few years.
In 2017 and 2018 I was working (about 2000 km) away from home with 12 to 14 hour work days and no personal computer.
2109 to mid 2020 was back home but working on a multi billion $ project again long hours. Since then on another major project with long hours.
the last mentioned project has some significant statistics. Think about the PICAXE chip with nominal 20 mA nominal IO rating whereas my work project has busbars rated at 270,000 amps (270 kA).

I had back around the mentioned 5 years ago written up and posted notes detailing how to add ones own “breadboards” and components. There had been requests for such information.
The last work I did was to add a selection of bare wire links and some other components for Alan aka Allycat.

has anyone else used my notes to create extra boards or components?
If some posted their information could allow an update of the program as currently listed that may be useful to others.
 

AllyCat

Senior Member
Hi,
I see nothing new for almost 5 years.
Welcome to the forum. You could also say the same about PICaxe and PE6, but there's the old adage "If it ain't broke, don't mend it". :)

It is actually described as a "Community Project" and as Westy said, he has included details on how to add new components and Boards. Somewhere on my "todo list" (but a long way down) is to add the range of (double-sided) "Pad Type" Prototype Boards, commonly available in standard 2x8 , 3x7 , 4x6 , 5x7 , 6x8 , etc. cms sizes. Combined with the "One-Span Specials" wire links, it's easy to design "Pseudo PCB" prototype, or even "Final", circuit boards. But it requires quite a lot of work as I've seen 11 sizes up to 20 x 30 cms.

Normally, for a "new" component, I just substitute a different image file for one of the "less useful" components, for example there is a large number of (toggle) "switches" which differ by only their wire-colours. It "can" be done with a camera/phone photograph and a "drawing" package (which supports .GIF file format), but is much easier with a "calibrated" system using a Flat-Bed Scanner and a "serious" Drawing package such as Paintshop Pro. Sadly the original PsP has been somewhat "broken" by Win 10 and their marketing has adopted the "Sell an 'updated' version every year for another UKP/$100" philosophy (even though many reviewers consider the 15-20 year-old Jasc version to be "better"). GIMP can probably do the same job, but doesn't seem very intuitive to a long-time (and ageing) PsP user. :(

Cheers, Alan.
 

AllyCat

Senior Member
Hi,

Two inter-related issues that immediately come to mind: The "Help" file system no longer works because it was abandoned by M$ and, although (or perhaps because) my PC has a full 1024 x 1920 screen, the "Tool Palette" (at the LHS) is too "tall", so the important Rectangle/Ellipse drawing tool is missing off the bottom of the screen. Also, I may have made a "mistake" when installing PsP v7.02 (c.2000) because every time it starts up it dumps about ten "useless" folders onto my desktop. Possibly something in "settings", but I haven't found it yet. :(

Maybe I should go back to my v4.14SE, which has a particularly good set of boot-up defaults (and of course programs of that vintage start almost instantly). But sadly v4 (the last "freeware" version) doesn't support the .GIF file format required for Pebble.

Cheers, Alan.
 

lbenson

Senior Member
I also have v7.02, and don't see the folder-creation issue. GIF is supported.

The only real issue I have, not related to Win10, is that I can't (or don't know how to) select JPG as a default format for saving, so probably thousands of times I've had to select it with several clicks. And sometimes, LHS tools get grayed out and I can't figure out how to get them back without exiting and restarting.

On a 1366x768 screen, I get this for the Left-Hand-Side toolbar (tools not grayed out when an image is loaded):
PSP LHS tools.jpg
 

AllyCat

Senior Member
Hi,

Yes, I think .GIF may have even been introduced at v5, and I accept that I made a "mistake" during installation when (unexpectedly) being asked to supply a file path for an (unrecognised) function. But there appears to be absolutely nothing within PsP which allows me to (successfully) change the path (away from the desktop), and I haven't wanted to attempt a complete re-install.

Yes, the toolbar was fine on my 1024 x 600 Netbook, but here are a couple of screenshots from my new Win 10 PC's Default set-up. If I change the scale to a ("not recommended") factor of 125%, then I have discovered (now) that the PsP toolbar is complete. But that's a "Global" System setting which makes other Apps too small. :(

PsPToolbar.png


WindowsSettings.png

Cheers, Alan.
 

John West

Senior Member
Not abandoned but no requests and I have had little time for hobbies over the past few years.
In 2017 and 2018 I was working (about 2000 km) away from home with 12 to 14 hour work days and no personal computer.
2109 to mid 2020 was back home but working on a multi billion $ project again long hours. Since then on another major project with long hours.
the last mentioned project has some significant statistics. Think about the PICAXE chip with nominal 20 mA nominal IO rating whereas my work project has busbars rated at 270,000 amps (270 kA).
270kA at what voltage? Just curious.
 

westaust55

Moderator
270 Vdc
So just like an enormous welder.
Two such circuits equates on the 33 kV supply side to around 150 MW power draw
 

westaust55

Moderator
I have worked on projects before for submerged arc electric furnaces. They also operate around the 250 V. Those were 3-phase a.c. With 80 kA into each electrode for silicon metal and special alloys.

the mentioned project with 270 kA d.c. is an electro winning (EW) cell house for in effect electro-plating zinc metal out of a sulphuric acid solution onto cathode plates.
Same process also used for copper but those for copper that I have worked on were only around 30 kA d.c.
Believe highest rating is an EW plant in US where the current is 400 kA.
 
Top