Has anyone used the MPU-5060 3-axis Gyro? I need help setting up coding for it...

rocketdoc

I have 2 of these for a project for my thesis. I am NOT a great programmer, and I want to learn more, I am just LOST with this idea, but, I want to understand it completely. I can provide a data sheet available for free online here:

http://www.bt2000.co.uk/datasheets/invensense/mpu6050.pdf

I want to design a small but complete gyro stabilizing setup for large scale model rocket, that use servo's for controlling the gymballing of the rocket nozzle. I want to use this for my Thesis, and I have about 6 months to complete it. I will also use this in a test model, for the means of using not only fins but pivoting the engine/nozzle for guidance and launch path programming.

I would certainly appreciate any help I can get... and would give the due credit for the help.

Thank you all!!!

Kim

SAborn

Do you intend to use I2C or SPI interface with the gyros, if you use I2C then the addresses would be %11010000 and %11010010, from a quick look at the data sheet the data returned would be 2 bytes for each axis X,Y,Z.

My only thought is the picaxe will be far too sloooooow for this project and you will require a MUCH faster chip to react to rocket changes quickly enough.

rocketdoc

I would be using a faster PICAXE speed...16Ghz

Thank you. I would obviously use a higher speed chip. If I were to use a high speed chip for just the guidance, I could possibly use another to monitor other things, without interfering with the correction couldn't I? I could not even use a Arduino if this is the case.
What would you suggest, as it appears that you are highly knowledgeable on this subject.

Also, Even if it is too slow, it would still work for my thesis, as a proof of concept, and for use as a discovery... I would consider using a full 8 or 32 bit processor if need be...

Any suggestions is really appreciated, as I said...

Kim

SAborn

I would be using a faster PICAXE speed...16Ghz