Getting pulses to control a separate stepper driver

Staffscrocs

Hi, I am building a power feed system for a machine in my home workshop. I have a large stepper motor (7.8A) and its proper commercial driver but to control the functions I need a few basic inputs and a variable trigger pulse to feed to the driver.
I am fairly new to PICs and not sure of the way forward for the pulse thing. I have sorted out enable and direction signals OK.
What would be the best route to try with the picaxe programming? I have an ordinary 18 chip at present and wonder if I need an 18x with PWM and use that feature?
Any suggestions gratefully received!
Regards
Les

Rickharris

I would suggest reading the interface PDF file in the programme editor help. - search for Stepper motor There are sample programmes that might help you.

Staffscrocs

Thanks Rick,
I don't need to program the chip as a stepper driver, I am using a big commercial driver unit. What I need are the pulses that trigger the commercial driver unit. The motor runs at 400 pulses per revolution so I need something to generate and vary the frequency of these to control the driver unit.
Les

RMParkhouse

well im not very experienced in electronics or anything but in school when we want to play with CRO's we just hooked up an astable 555 timer and used either a variable capacitor or change the circuit slightly nd used a variable resistor to control the frequency. you might need to amplify the signal slightly but that might work, but ofcourse im only a novice as far as electronics goes so maybe it wouldnt work for what you want

Staffscrocs

My initial thoughts were with a 555 and I have tried using one. It works but the variable bit is not so good. I have been told that I should be able to do the job easier and neater with PICs.