Generating a clock signal

thos_thom

I'm new to the picaxe scene (new to electronics in general) and I'm working on getting a little LCD to work with an 08m. I seem to have most of the code working (save for that I've completely run out of space to do anything useful with it) but I have one last problem.

The LCD requires a 50khz clock signal continuously to refresh the screen. My code ignores this and bit bangs the data to initialize and put something on the screen, then i "setfreq m8" and switch into a loop of
"pulsout" as fast as i can.

This refreshes the screen enough for me to be able to see my graphics to know the code works but it looks really bad.

Is there another way I could generate a faster clock?

Thanks,
Thom.

Technical

Technical Support
Staff member
Look up the pwmout command. On the 08M you can set this to provide background pulses whilst the PICAXE does other things.

pwmout 2,19,40

will give you 50kHz. Note you must use output 2, as this is the hardware pin with the pwmout function.

thos_thom

I have tried the pwmout command but I couldn't get it to work.
I'm not sure if I was doing it wrong or if my hardware was at fault.

Could it have something to do with the fact that pin2 would also have been connected to pint 1, the pin I was using as the clock for bit banging the data?

D n T

With regard to a clock signal

I want to get my 28X1 to read a sensor every 2 seconds can i use a PWM command to trigger an input and after x amount of triggers the sensor is read, or is there an easier way?
I need a regular sensing time so I can figure out the average amp consumption over a given period of time.
Help?

BeanieBots

The 28X1 has an internal timer which can trigger interrupts.