First Servo Pulsing?

willis192

Hi guys,

I'm new to all this robotics malarkey and seem to have come accross a snag and was wondering if someone would help me.

I'm running a Pic28 board with a 28X1 with the servo upgrade DIL chip. I have two Hitec HS-81 servo's which I have adjusted for continual motor drive using seperate 22 turn pots. I have two microswitches which i'm going to use as front sensors. The problem I have is when using the following code:

main:

IF pin4 = 1 OR pin5 = 1 THEN drive

servo 3, 128
servo 6, 128
pause 400

goto main

drive:

servo 3, 70
servo 6, 70
pause 400

goto main

The first servo always has a constant jitter like pulse, in this case servo 3.

Am I missing something vital from the code or is that just the way the picaxe works?

Thanks

Andy

Rickharris

No it should be solid. If you swap the servo will it still jitter (i.e. is it the servo?)

Try placing a slight pause before and between the 2 servo commands to give things a chance to settle down.

BeanieBots

As stated by Rick, they should be rock solid. Certainly worth putting a pause20 between any servo updates.
Also worth just changing the order in which you update them and/or different pins.
For applications that require frequent updates such as variable speed walking robots I have had to resort to using pulsout and generating the 20mS frame in code but your application should not suffer in that way.

Edited by - Admin on 09/08/2007 16:20:17

alpacaman

I'm having the same problem. I'm using 2 servos in a clock application. Whenever the minutes servo gets a command the hour servo pulses. There's a 60 minute pause between the 2 servo commands - so I know that's not the problem. The servos are running on a seperate power supply than the picaxe - with the commons tied together. I'm using the latest and greatest software from Revolution Education.

Technical

Technical Support
Staff member