Electrical bits - Resistors

defuzz

I'm pretty new to electronics but am having a blast learning pics and stuff.

So far I've only used picaxe project boards which come with all the bits I need but I'd like to expand a bit and am looking at buying a "multipack" of resistors to have all the right bits for whatever I might do.

this is where I get stuck......

rapid electronics for instance have a number of different "kits" available but I don't understand the terminology:

Option 1: http://www.rapidonline.com/productinfo.aspx?tier1=Electronic+Components&tier2=Resistors+&+Potentiometer&tier3=Metal+Film+Resistors&tier4=MR25+Metal+film+resistor+kit&moduleno=65199#techspec

A pack containing a total of 1000 0.25W 1% 50ppm precision metal film resistors

Option 2:
http://www.rapidonline.com/productinfo.aspx?tier1=Electronic+Components&tier2=Resistors+&+Potentiometer&tier3=Carbon+Film+Resistors&tier4=CR25+Carbon+film+resistor+kit&moduleno=28374#techspec

A pack containing a total of 1000 0.25W 5% carbon film resistors

Option 3:
http://www.rapidonline.com/productinfo.aspx?tier1=Electronic+Components&tier2=Resistors+&+Potentiometer&tier3=Carbon+Film+Resistors&tier4=CR50+Carbon+film+resistor+kit&moduleno=65195

A pack containing a total of 1000 0.5W 5% carbon film resistors.

so my questions.....

- what does the 0.5w or 0.25w refer to?
- what does the % mean?
- whats the difference between metal and carbon film resistors?

- in summary, which, if any would be most useful to me as a pack for various pic based projects??

thanks so much for your help

bgrabowski

Go for the 0.25W 5% set. It means one quarter Watt power rated resistors which are guaranteed to be accurate to within 5% of their nominal values.

craig008