Driving LED

Bond

Im a bit new to this
I am using a picaxe 14M2

I have connect a 330 resisted and a LED down to ground on a PMW pin
I can control the brightness by adjusting the PMW no problem

but am struggling to under stand how much current is going to be pull though the chip

I only get about 2.5 volts out off the pin so it appears to be using around 9ma (I was expecting it to be near to 15ma)?

I am trying to work out the best way to add as many LED on 1 pin with out blowing up the chip

can anyone explain the best way to do this (at what point should I be look at using a driver circuit? (I really what to keep to the least amount of components possible)

hippy

Technical Support
Staff member
Rich (BB code):
Vpwm >---.   ---.
        .|.     |
        |_|     | Vr
         |      |
         |   ---{       Vpwm = Vr + Vfwd
        _|_     |
       _\ /_    | Vfwd
         |      |
  0V ----^-- ---'
With the PICAXE on a 5V power supply Vpwm will be 0V or 5V.

The LED will have a Vfwd voltage which depends on the LED type and colour. For a typical LED this will be -

1.6V to 2.0V (1.8V) - Red
2.0V to 2.1V (2.0V) - Orange
2.1V to 2.2V (2.1V) - Yellow
1.9V to 4.0V (3.0V) - Green
2.5V to 3.7V (3.1V) - Blue
2.5V to 3.7V (3.1V) - White

The voltage across the resistor, Vr will be Vpwm - Vfwd.

For a typical red LED: Vr = 5V - 1.8V = 3.2V.

The current through Vr will be Ir = Vr / R.

For a 330R and Vr of 3.2V: Ir = 3.2V / 330R ~= 10mA

Because current is constant through the circuit, Ipwm = Ir. So ~10mA will be drawn from the PWMOUT pin.

That's the current when Vpwm is high, but the average when it is switching high and low will proportionally reduce. When on for half the time the current will be half what it is when it is always on.

A peak current of ~10mA is perfectly acceptable for drawing through a PICAXE pin so you shouldn't need a driver of any kind, just the current limiting resistor.