DIPTRACE PCB CAD for PICAXErs

Mycroft2152

DIPTRACE is an easy to learn schematic and pcb layout program. Thre free version allows 250 pins and 2 layer pcbs to be created.

I'm an ex EAGLE user who completely moved over to DIPTRACE after tryng it out for less than a week. I've been using DIPTRACE for four years now and reccommend it highly.

I'll be posting some PICAXE designs, libraries and VSM here.

Post any questions here, and I'll try to answer them

Myc

moxhamj

As per previous thread "Mycroft, as an Eagle expert can you please help with a problem replicated on three computers by two different people - the smd-ipc.lbr library does not appear to be available to select components from. Have tried updating the library files etc. This library is a default one including with the program download."

The program is Eagle 4.16r2.

But it could well be that diptrace is easier than trying to debug Eagle. Maybe I might make the move too... I'll check out diptrace.

Mycroft2152

Hi Doc,

I revved up by rusty copy of EAGLE 4.16r2 and had the same problem. Very strange. I could open the library to view it, but could not select a part from it. I am using Windows XP SP2. the smp-ipc.lib has a creation date of 12/13/06

It is interesting to note that the smd-ipc.lib is not listed on their website as part of the library downloads. (?)

I have 2 suggestions, 1. Post a message to their technical website , or 2. download and earlier version of EAGLE and see if there is a problem.

It is also interesting that there are no mentions of this problem when doing a google search.

DIPTRACE has a function to import EAGLE files and libraries, I'll give that a try.

Myc

Last edited:

ciseco

This is what I got from thier tech support (see below)