debug crashes my laptop

DaveBl

Hi I am new to the picaxe, when I use the
debug command, given that the serial out pin is correctly connected, my lap top processor fan speed increases dramatically.
If I leave the the debug window open then the Windows crashes and I suspect I am overvolting the USB port. Supply to the PIC is 5.1V regulated. Whaddya think good people?
Blackie

andrewpro

How are you connected to the USB port?

Chances are your not "overvolting" the USB port. They're generally pretty robust.

If your laptop fan goes nuts, and the debug window crashes windows, it's soemthing with your USB drivers. Either the root drivers (for the USB interface), the device drivers (for what's plugged into the USB port), or soemthing between two USB devices. Something isn't playing happy.

I know this isn't a windows support forum..hehe...but if you could give me the exact errors you get (if any) I can tell ya which way to go with it.

--Andy P

Dippy

One teeny tiny thought which you should look at. It may not be the problem but I had a similar thing a while ago when I was fiddling with serial input on VB.
IF (and I say IF) the debug window is continuously looking for serial input it will be using a lot of processor time.
IF it is possible (and you use XP) do a ctrl+alt+del and look at the CPU usage.
IF it is 80 - 100% then your processor will get warmer and your fan will come on. MAYBE your PC is a little oversensitive to high processor usage / higher temps?
Just a thought.
In my case the notebook didn't crash but it halved my battery life.

DaveBl