DAC implementation

MD_Micro

I'm new to PICAXE. I'm looking for an implentaion to drive (2) 0-10VDC signals with a PICAXE.

8 bit resolution is good enough or possibly using an integrator with a PWM output and maybe PID back to one of the ADC inputs to trim it.

I'm sure the final output will have to be buffered and amplified.

Any suggestions?

BeanieBots

The 28X supports two 10-bit background PWM signals.
Being logic levels, naturally, the voltage is close to whatever your PICAXE power supply is. Therefore, after integration, (or just simple RC), you will require further amplification to get 10v.

The resultant DC level after RC filtering of the PWM signal follows the duty cycle very well. You should not require any feedback to the PICAXE. Besides, the thing most likely to cause any discrepancy would be the power supply. The PICAXE ADC uses the power supply as it's reference so it would actually be very complex to use such feedback requiring a good reference voltage and several op-amps.

Jeremy Leach

Here's a little idea that doesn't need an amplifier:

<code><pre><font size=2 face='Courier'>
o-------------o 10V
|
.-.
o---------o5V | |R2
| |
'-'
___ |
In/Out ---&gt;--|___|--o---o-&gt; DC level
|
|
|
---
---
|
o----------------o-------------o
</font></pre></code>

It's using a Picaxe08M where the pin is configured either as an input or output.

When the pin is an input it's high impedence letting the cap charge to 10V. When it's an output and set 'low' it discharges the cap towards 0V.

So could have code that toggles the state of the pin, and maybe a feedback loop to read into an ADC (via a potential divider).

Edited by - jeremy leach on 11/01/2007 17:08:33

Dippy

I dunno what value Rs you're considering there Jezzer but I wouldn't feel happy with that circuit. You could have &gt;&gt;5V on a pin, and I can't see it giving anywhere near 0-10V anyway.