curtain controller

davidwf

Being new to PICs (and now this excellent forum) but an old hand at electronics I want to replace my curtains / lights controller comprising of 8 i/c's and a bucketful of components and relays with a PIC and some software....so far so good.

I need a program to read the light level from an LDR (I should be able to manage that), if below a certain value wait for a few minutes to prevent operation by clouds etc., then if still low activate an output for about 2 seconds to operate the switch of a commercial RF remote controlled lights system, then after a further few minutes delay activate another output for a few seconds to close my motorised curtains.

The curtains remain closed until it is daylight again and a separate stand alone timer currently turns the lights off at a set time, I would prefer to keep this for simplicity rather than incorporate a real time clock module.

Like I said I am completely new to programming and I can't see how to make the main program run repeatedly (checking light level) and then also driving a relay or similar output.
Any guidance appreciated and I hereby promise to publish the completed circuit whan I have done it....and I WILL do it !

Thanks in anticipation

papaof2

Pseudocode framework---

main:
check_light_level 'use ADC to read LDR

if light_level less than minimum_daylight_level then
do dark_work_here
end if

if light_level greater than minimum_daylight_level then
do light_work_here
end if

goto main 'keep checking

You may find better examples already on the forum...

John

Last edited:

Dippy

David,

Look at Papa's suggestion.
Look at the basic Manual (Maual 2) and study the list of commands.

See how Papa has written a pseudo-Basic-English code where he has listed out the tasks to be done.
You should adopt a similar approach for all your programming.