Connecting a PICAXE 18M2 to a serial OLED module

peterjames

Hi Im new to ths forum so please excuse if this post is in the wrong place.

I am attempting to create a countdown timer using an OLED screen and picaxe.
I have bought the following:

PICAXE-18 Starter Pack
Serial OLED Module (20x4)

I have assembled the components. I have run a test program with an LED on my picaxe board to see if it work, which it does.

My question is how do I connect my OLED screen to the picaxe board.

http://www.picaxe.com/docs/axe134.pdf

The instructions say to connect the positive and the ground. for which there are several port on the picaxe board. I used the positive and the negative ports on H0 next to where the battery pack is connected. As for connecting B.7 to INT. The B.7 output port is comprised of a negative and positive port. which one do I use?

I connected the negative of B.7 to the INT of the OLED module. When I turned it all on with this code.

init: pause 500 ; wait for display to initialise
main: serout B.7,N2400,(254,128) ; move to start of first line
serout B.7,N2400,(“Hello!123”) ; output text
end

The OLED didnt light up or seem to be on. Have I connected this up properly? I have looked for an actual picture of the serial OLED and picaxe board wired together but cannot find one.

What do you all advise / suggest?

Many thanks,

Pete

Last edited by a moderator:

BeanieBots

Hi and welcome to the forum.
Your description of how you have wired it sounds OK but obviously not.
Even if you cannot 'talk' to the display, I'm sure it should show a welcome message at power up.
Double check that the two power wires for the display really are connected to the power supply lines going to your project board.
Check here for details.
http://www.picaxe.com/docs/chi035a.pdf

Also, make sure that serial in to the display is connect DIRECTLY to the PICAXE output pin and NOT via the transistor array.

peterjames

Hi, Thank you for your welcome and reply.