Bluetooth remote control project

JPU

Hi All

I am trying to source a bluetooth remote control for integration into an ongoing project. Currently I use a 14m2 to control a brushless motor controller board. The 14m2 receives input from 3 wired switches which are stop/stop, speed up and slow down.

Id like to make the unit remote control and integrate a bluetooth system (so I can have future additions to the controller). So at this stage Id like to source a simple remote which has enough buttons to replicate the current control panel. Obviously this remote would have to be paired to a receiver which would pass on the instructions to the 14m2.

Can anyone point me to a suitable "off the shelf" solution or suggest an easy work around. I have limited knowledge of bluetooth (and electronics) so a simple solution would be great!

Thanks for you help

JPU

BeanieBots

I'm not aware of ANY Bluetooth "remote controls". There are however many RF remotes that work on the common 144Mhz frequency for which there are many cheap receivers that can be used with PICAXE. Rev-Ed sell many that would be OK.
If you really want it to be Bluetooth, you may need to consider writing an app for a mobile phone! That would give you the ultimate flexibility.
For the receiver you could use the HC-05 / HC-06 modules available from many sources at very reasonable prices.

One of the issues you will be up against using anything off-the-shelf is that they run much faster than most PICAXE applications because they use compiled PIC code or even hardware based encoding. This can be a problem when trying to decode the signals using a PICAXE. One such example would be the LightWaveRF remotes used for home automation. Several people have made them work here. They had to use 20X chip clocked as fast as possible. A 14M would not be able to keep up. Might be worth a search of the forum.