Bike llight regulator

corblimey

Well, it's taken a little while coming but since I said I'd share to the others that have kindly helped me with my little project, here it is.

Constructive criticisms will be very much appreciated but please go gently on me since it's my first attempt at anything like this.

Basically what I've tried to build is a voltage regulator for use with a bike light system I've cobbled together. I took a couple of mr16 pond lights from B&Q added some handlebar mounts and a 18.5v Li-ion battery and although this works I thought I'd make it a little more sophisticated by adding a regulator. It comes with soft start, low battery warning, turbo mode (unregulated) and low and high regulated modes to flatten out the battery discharge curve thus providing longer runtime and consistent brightness.

In the end I went to the reactive system as suggested by Dippy (I think). When I got into it I just couldn't understand why I was so intent having feedback in the first place, it just wasn't necessary. I also found by experimentation that simply averaging ADC readings was the most reliable way of getting a stable voltage reading so no need for filtering (another advantage of measuring the battery as opposed to the bulb voltage).

Anyway, here's the code and circuit:

n.b. I can't help tinkering and modded the code (particularly the button stuff) and have yet to test it so I may have introduced a couple of errors in there.

Code:
' Battery voltage measured over 10k leg of 10k/33k divider
' ADC resolution 256 over 0 -> 5v
' To calculate measured voltage = byte value * (5 / 256)
' To calulate battery voltage = measured voltage * (43/10)

' Assign lamp and battery settings
' To simplify the maths calculate target voltages as equivalent ADC values
symbol low_power = 107 			' 9v = 107
symbol high_power = 143			' 12v = 143
symbol turbo_power = 255		' max battery voltage = 255
symbol low_batt_voltage = 179		' 15v

' Assign ports
symbol switch1 = pin3