Bat detector

pasks

Can anyone help me translate a very small piece of code written for the 12F683 (on which the 08M is based, I believe). I'm just starting out on all this electronics stuff, so if anyone can help, I'd be very grateful.

See http://www.micro-examples.com/public/microex-navig/doc/077-picobat.html

* picoBAT : an ultra simple ultrasonic bat detector
* Author : Bruno Gavand, February 2009
* see more details on http://www.micro-examples.com/
* source code for mikro C compiler V8.2
* feel free to use this code at your own risks
* target : PIC12
* PIC PIN Assignemnt :
* GP0 GP1 : piezo speaker
* GP5 : ultrasonic transducer receiver
*/

void main()
{
/*
* configure GPIO as digital port
*/
CMCON0 = 7 ;
ANSEL = 0 ;

TRISIO = 0 ;
GPIO = 0b01 ;

for(;;)
{
/*
* toggles speaker outputs
*/
GPIO ^= 0b11 ;
}
}

The code divides the input frequency by 16 bringing it down to our hearing range.

Cheers all.

westaust55

PASKS,

firstly welcome to the PICAXE forum.

CAN you explain a little further exactly what your end result is.

Are you intending to use an 08M PICAXE chip?
If so, then for the output to a speaker there are the TUNE and SOUND commands available. These only need one PICAXE chip IO pin to be used (not two as per the project you are trying to emulate)

Do you need to divide the received noise by 4 and pass to the speaker or can other sounds/notes suffice?

Ultrasonic sound starts at roughly 20kHz and upwards.

The PICAXE COUNT command can detect pulses:
- up to 25kHz at 4MHz clock speed - probably a bit low.
- up to 50kHz at 8MHz clock speed. (Use SETFREQ m8 to select 8MHz mode)

Have a read about the mentioned commands and give us a better idea of exactly what you are looking for, or can accept.

pasks

Thanks for the reply. Sorry, the original message was a bit too vague.
Yes, I would like to use the 08M.