AXE134Y program issues

Ninja MacNinja

Hi,

I am fairly new to PICAXE programming and Im having an issue with a piece of code.

I have bought the AXE134Y OLED display as I plan to use it in a project. This issue I am having is with the test command below. It comes up with a syntax error, which is also below.

Command
init: pause 500 ; wait for display to initialise
main: serout B.7,N2400,(254,128) ; move to start of first line
serout B.7,N2400,(“Hello!123”) ; output text
end

Error:
serout B.7,N2400,(“Hello!”) ; output text
^
Syntax error on line 3 at/before position 18

Error: Illegal character: ((0xFFFFFF93))

Is there some sort of firmware that needs to be downloaded onto the chip before I can use it? As I said I am fairly new to PICAXE having only used (barely) Assembly Language. Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

oracacle

what character are you typing for the speech marks?

I dropped your code into the editor and got the same error, changed them for shift+2 on a UK keyboard and it syntax checked fine

so you get
serout b.7,N2400,("Hello!123")
even here my speech marks seem to display differently than yours. There is some other symbol you have used for some reason.

Code:
[color=Black]init: [/color][color=Blue]pause [/color][color=Navy]500 [/color][color=Green]; wait for display to initialise
 [/color][color=Black]main: [/color][color=Blue]serout B.7[/color][color=Black],[/color][color=Blue]N2400[/color][color=Black],[/color][color=Blue]([/color][color=Navy]254[/color][color=Black],[/color][color=Navy]128[/color][color=Blue]) [/color][color=Green]; move to start of first line
 [/color][color=Blue]serout B.7[/color][color=Black],[/color][color=Blue]N2400[/color][color=Black],[/color][color=Blue]([/color][color=Red]"Hello!123"[/color][color=Blue]) [/color][color=Green]; output text
 [/color][color=Blue]end[/color]
Edit:
did you by chance use alt+0147 and alt+0148. really need to learn alt codes but struggle to find the use for it these days.