At90S1200 pic replacement

Hubsy

Hiya,
Grey Haired nooby question.

I've been in electronics for many years, too many years!!
Programmed Siemens industrial computers, so know something about programming.
Have designed and built more pcb's than I can remember.

I've just ordered the axe091 with usb cable. I like the look of the picaxe program, much simpler than assembler programming.

I've never used pics before, well not programming them.

My first project is to replace an Atmel AT90S1200 with a pic.
speed is not too critical.
3 inputs, possible one analouge.
3 outputs.

future projects will be connected with a model railway.

Which chip would you suggest I start with?

Thanks
Hubsy

Andrew Cowan

08M: 1 digital input, 4 pins that can be digital in, analogue in, or outputs.

14M: 3 digital inputs, 2 digital or analogue inputs, 6 outputs.

So maybe the 14M?

A

SilentScreamer

Look in manual one at the pin out diagrams, it will show you what each PICAXE is capable of (input/output wise). The 14M sounds good pin wise (look at appendix C (page 80) to see the full pin out), however it only has 256 bytes of program memory, doesn't the Atmel AT90S1200 have 1KB? Therefore the 18X might be better with 2KB of memory.

hippy

Ex-Staff (retired)
Some idea of what the program will need to do will help. It may be quite simple so any PICAXE with suitable I/O and ADC could work, if it's a quite complicated program it may need a PICAXE with larger program memory.

It may be that the task is not even within the PICAXE's capabilities, some PICAXE's may be better suited than others, perhaps any could be used, even the PICAXE-08.

My recommendations would be -

08M - for small footprint applications, and the AXE230 surface mount module is great for fitting in confined spaces.

14M/18M/20M - if you need more I/O than the 08M

18X - If you want a bigger program memory

28X1/40X1 - If you want even bigger program memory and more I/O

28X2/40X2 - If you want 'everything'

eclectic

@Hubsy