Any experience with Touch Screens?

I have just come to the end of my Year 12 electronics project, and I have already started brainstorming ideas for what I can make next year.
I am a dedicated student, and am prepared to go much deeper than I need to to pass my exams.

I feel that a really neat thing to have would be a graphic LCD, with a touch screen. I have found this one on EBay:
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/128-x-64-graphic-lcd-with-touch-microchip-pic-compat_W0QQitemZ280208504379QQihZ018QQcategoryZ36332QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

Has anybody had any experience with an idea such as this with a Picaxe system, and most importantly, has it worked?
My ideas are changing all the time, and I have a couple of months before I must start, but I feel that it is never too early. I am soon to be going to JCB World Headquaters to talk to an electronic engineer there, who has agreed to give me support.
One idea is to use a strain gauge, but I do not know how to make a product out of this simple idea. I would like to use a touch screen to display information, and maybe have a menu to take the user through options of activating different outputs depending on the load.
I like the hardware side, but enjoy programming even more. I am not phased by a challange, but am aware that I must have whatever I make finished by a deadline.

Any ideas about graphic displays, touch screens, strain gauges, or anything else would be greatly appreciated.

Last edited:

Dippy

I've never done touch screen stuff with PICAXE, but there is a lot of info kicking around for the X-Y ADCing for resistive touchscreen. Maybe have a look at some of the touch-screen controller chips to see how they do it.