alapmac

alapmac

I am new to picaxe but have used pics previously using logicator flowcharts. I want to build a tide clock based on the moon phases. Output will be in the form of 8 to 12 LED's lighting on the 'moon hour'.
I was hoping to use a picaxe but it would appear that the internal clock is inacurate. I would like the device to be accurate to within about 5 minutes per month (10 seconds per day).
Do I need to use an external resonator or seperate chip to achieve this accuracy?
Thanks
Tony

BeanieBots

I've moved your thread to a more appropriate section of the forum.

For accurate timing you should be looking at using a crystal.
A chip with a resonator would be better than one using an internal oscillator but your code would still need to do the hard work. Consider using a clock chip such as the DS1307.

Have a read of this thread for some other ideas:-
http://www.picaxeforum.co.uk/showthread.php?t=7838

Last edited:

hippy

Technical Support
Staff member
Two other options are : synchronised to the mains frequency if PSU used ( an AC adapter is needed ), only a simple resistor circuit needed there, or with the right PICAXE (08M, 18A, 18X, and probably 14M ) a watch crystal connected running an internal timer. That gets a bit more complicated software wise.

Michael 2727

I was thinking about this application a few weeks ago,
with an 08M you could expect a drift of up to 3.5 mins
each day, from testing an 08M stop watch app.
An accurate time base can be made with a 4040
or 4060 and a 32KHz watch XTL.
I was working on a lunar cycle of 89,424 seconds.
You still need calibration for the particular area
you live or intend to use the unit, e.g. + or - times
from the nearest tidal reference point.

hippy

Technical Support
Staff member
I was thinking about this application a few weeks ago,
with an 08M you could expect a drift of up to 3.5 mins each day, from testing an 08M stop watch app.