7 segment disp count up program

Knightryder

Hi there

I am new to picaxe but have created a 7 segment display circuit. I have sucessfully written a program to make it count up using 08M setup(see below)
My aim is to try and replicate a stop watch.

main: let b1 = 9 'give variable b1 the value 9
gosub clock 'call sub-procedure
pause 1000 'wait 1 second
goto main 'loop

clock:pulsout 1,10 'reset display to 0
if b1 = 0 then endclk 'if b1 = 0 then return
for b3 = 0 to b1 'start a for next loop
pulsout 0,10 'pulse clock line
pause 1000 'pause
next b3 'next loop
goto clock 'return from sub-procedure

endclk:return

I would now like to program in a routine that makes it stop counting when i press the 'push to make' switch and for it to reset when i press and hold the ptm switch.

any help would be greatly appreciated

Many thanks

hippy

Technical Support
Staff member
Welcome to the PICAXE Forum.

The first thing to do is to work out what your stopwatch will be doing ...

1) Reset the display
2) Wait for 'start' button push
3) Start counting and incrementing display
4) If 'stop' button not pushed keep counting and incrementing display
5) Wait for 'reset' button pushed
6) Start again from 1.

Your design may be a little different to that but once you've decided the design it's a matter of writing the code to implement the design required. That may be modifying an existing program but it's often best to take the knowledge gained from previous programs then write a new program for the new design.

You've got an excellent program which demonstrates a clock which counts up and you are now confident you can control the display itself, reseting it and incrementing it. It may not however be the most appropriate code to modify for what you now need to do.