5khz reciever

melazarus

Hi,
I have bought one of the cheaper Polar Heart rate monitoring watches. The come in 2 parts, a transmitter and a watch/receiver.

I have an idea of building a Picaxe data logger that logs my heart rate every X time.
To be able to do this I need to add some electronics to the Picaxe that enables it to receive the wireless signal coming from the transmitter.

This is what I found on the net:

> Polar Non-Coded and T31 Transmitters :
>
> Transmission frequency: 5kHz
> Means of transmission: On/Off -modulated electromagnetic field with a
> 5-7ms burst for each heart beat

Can anyone point me to the right direction so I can build this 5khz receiver that outputs a TTL level signal for the picaxe?

I don't think this is very hard to make as they don't seem to have any data in the transmission except for on/off (on being a heart beat I assume) But I'm a noob if it comes to wireless communications.

thanks for the tips

eclectic

VLF

Do a google search for VLF radio receiver.

There are lots on the net.

And, while you're Googling, find then download a program called

Spectrogram.

It could prove useful for signal analysis.

e.

Last edited:

gengis

> Transmission frequency: 5kHz
> Means of transmission: On/Off -modulated electromagnetic field with a
> 5-7ms burst for each heart beat

Any high gain audio amplifier can handle 5khz - you would need a pickup coil on the input to capture the energy. A tuned coil would work much better for distance - but up against the transmitter any coil with a lot of turns of wire should do it.

A 5-7 ms burst of 5 KHZ is about 100 cycles of tone and will sound more like a "click."

If you have a tape recorder with one of those pickup coils for telephone monitoring that should work or just plug the coil into an audio amp. Moving the coil around to find the best orientation . . .