28X1 chip to chip power consumption variations

tchapin

Hi,

First I wanted to express my gratitude to the picaxe group. I've been working with these chips for ~2 years and searching the forum has saved me from a lot of headaches and user blunders.

OK, here's the problem. I use the 28X1 with the 28X project board (AXE 020) to control a battery powered field instrument. The 28X1 is powered by 3 AAs while a separate battery drives some solenoids. These instruments are deployed for up to a year in freezing conditions and are in low power sleep for 99% of the time so ultra low power sleep is essential.

I run a simple test program just to check the power draw during sleep for each 28X1 chip. Chips are inserted into the same 28X project board which is pre-assembled with inputs tied to ground . After program is downloaded and serial comms cable is removed.

(http://www.rev-ed.co.uk/docs/axe020.pdf)

' 28X1 low power test program
' fresh AA batteries
' 28X project board#2, no modifications or added circuits to project board
' no solenoids connected, darlington driver in socket but not used.
' program editor 5.2.5
' runs at 4MHz which is resonator on 28X project board

Main:
disablebod ' turns off brownout detect, lowest power sleep
sleep 3
enablebod ' turns on BOD, bumps current draw to ~200 uA
sleep 3

goto Main

The first 28X1 chips I received were great, I had sleep currents of 1.6-1.9 uA The most recent chips I received all have much higher current draw during sleep. These results use the same 28X1 project board so the only difference is the 28X1 chip.

chips#1-3: 1.6-1.9 uA, firmware= A.2, processor batch# 07012QC
chips#4: 103 uA, firmware= A.2, processor batch# 07012QC
chips#5-10: 125-129 uA, firmware= A.3, processor batch# 08103MD