18x & 4D systems OLED display Automotive Gauge - FINISHED

nbw

Awesome!! Great work indeed. One small thing... the steering wheel's on the wrong side of the car ;-)

papaof2

Awesome!! Great work indeed. One small thing... the steering wheel's on the wrong side of the car ;-)
Looks fine on this side of the pond ;-)
I've been driving on that side for 40+ years (less two weeks in the UK a few years ago).

John

Last edited:

nbw

Where did you get that OLED juve? Nice and compact. Very impressive that a wee 18x can drive it too.

juve021

Where did you get that OLED juve? Nice and compact. Very impressive that a wee 18x can drive it too.
Thanks for the compliments...
The oled and other sized/optioned displays are made by 4D systems (australia). I purchased mine from another vendor but they are readily available throughout the world.

nbw

Good stuff. How many bytes of code did it take to produce that nice display, with the different colours / digits / etc?

nbw

Is the OLED number 4DOLED-282815? I'm seriously thinking of having a go sticking one of these on a picaxe project. Was it very hard to intfc the screen to the 18X?

juve021

The one I got is this one: http://www.4dsystems.com.au/prod.php?id=9

Very easy to interface to the 18x. You can get by with literally 3 wires to the LCD, +5, Ground and Rx. Of course, there is also a Tx from the display so that the 18x can verify reception and/or errors from the display.

Biggest thing is timing of the "initialization" Power on is critical so you may, depending upon your environment, have to compensate for this. For example, I had to add extra circuitry for a delayed +5 on to compensate for the ignition of the automobile going On-Off-On. The screen didn't like that.

nbw